At our house, we serve traditional meat and potato meals more often than any other dish. Because who doesn’t love a juicy slice of meat, with potatoes and carrots on the plate? The first time I made this, I was a little hesitant to put a roast in the air fryer. But it cooked like a champ, and made for a delicious dinner. It was pretty easy to make too, with very little prep.

What you need to make this roast

When I decided to try and make the roast in the air fryer, I wanted to keep it simple, so there are only five ingredients to make the main part of this dinner.

Beef Top Round RoastOlive Oilsaltpepperbeef brothmini potatoesbaby carrots

I served it with potatoes and carrots, but they don’t have to be added, especially if you want the meat to be for roast beef sandwiches.

How to make roast in the air fryer

The roast I made is almost three pounds exactly, and came with a string around it. I cut the tie, and brushed olive oil on the top and bottom of the roast. Then I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Once the roast has seasonings, place it in the basket and cook it at 400 degrees F for 25 minutes. Then, turn the roast over, and add seasoned potatoes and carrots, lightly coated in olive oil, to the basket. Continue cooking the roast and vegetables together, for an additional 15 minutes. I use a meat thermometer, to check the internal cooking temperature of the roast, testing until it reaches 145 degrees F. The mini potatoes and carrots are softened perfectly, so if you use large vegetables, they add a little extra time cooking. You can remove the roast, and let them cook for an additional 2-5 minutes on their own, until they reach the doneness your prefer.

What oils can I use in air fryer?

I use olive oil when I prepare my basket, or foods for cooking. If you would like to find out more information about what oils are safe to use, read Best Oils For the Air Fryer.

How do I keep the roast juicy while cooking?

I use beef broth to baste the roast as it’s cooking. You can also baste it after cooking, and let it rest in it’s juices for 5-10 minutes after cooking. MORE AIR FRYER RECIPES:

Lobster TailRibeye SteakBBQ Chicken WingsGarlic Butter ShrimpSoft Pretzels

©AirFryingFoodie 2021

Air Fryer Top Round Roast - 47Air Fryer Top Round Roast - 89Air Fryer Top Round Roast - 15Air Fryer Top Round Roast - 98Air Fryer Top Round Roast - 12Air Fryer Top Round Roast - 99