As much as I love the idea of spending an entire weekend in sweatpants watching Netflix, judging by how this Tuesday night went down, I don’t think I’d feel relaxed by the end of it. I feel most relaxed when I’m productive, so it’s not unheard of for me to spend a Friday night in the kitchen prepping a new recipe for the upcoming week (hello, Buttermilk Cake). However, I realize the importance of balance in life, so I think it’s time I find activities aside from crossing off my to-do list (or making a batch of Banana Bread Brownies). Until then, I’m going to eat a slice of this super moist and fluffy banana bundt cake that I baked while “relaxing” at 9:30 p.m. on a Friday night.

How to Make the BEST Banana Bundt Cake

If you have a big pile of overly ripe bananas sitting on your counter tempting you with their delicious possibilities, then this easy banana bundt cake recipe is for you (and if you have A LOT of bananas, better make this Chocolate Banana Bread too). This big beautiful cake could easily be the star at any holiday brunch but is also simple for a cozy weeknight dessert at home. It’s old-fashioned and unfussy, which is exactly why I love it.

The Ingredients

Bananas. This easy banana cake recipe calls for THREE whole (very ripe bananas) which are high in fiber, potassium, and powerful antioxidants. (This Banana Ice Cream is another great way to use up ripe bananas.)White Whole Wheat Flour. A sneaky swap that I guarantee no one will suspect, but everyone will appreciate. I love to bake with white whole wheat flour (see these Healthy Banana Muffins) any chance I get for added fiber, iron, and protein.Greek Yogurt. A full cup of fat-free Greek yogurt sneaks in some protein and makes the banana bundt cake extra moist without adding any additional fat. Orange Zest. To make the banana bundt cake a little extra special, I added orange zest which brightens and elevates the flavor of this cake to a whole new level of YUM.Vanilla Bean Paste. Another special “extra” that infuses the cream cheese frosting with HEAVENLY vanilla taste and aroma. Totally worth the splurge.Butter. A decent healthy (but not “healthy”) amount of butter is in both the cake and frosting for supreme flavor, richness, and texture.Cream Cheese. Another attempt to make this a healthy banana bundt cake. Reduced-fat cream cheese cuts the fat and calories of this cake (and this Greek Yogurt Cheesecake) a little without sacrificing taste or richness.

The Directions

Make-Ahead and Storage Tips

To Make Ahead. This cake tastes even better the next day! If time allows, wrap the unfrosted cake in plastic and let it sit overnight at room temperature. Frost the next day.To Store. Store leftovers loosely wrapped in plastic in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days.To Freeze. Place cake in the freezer either frosted or unfrosted, for up to 3 months. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator. Serve at room temperature.

Bundt Pan. This one has been my fav for years—seriously, NOTHING sticks to this baby.Baking Spray. For added insurance to prevent sticking.Potato Masher. Not just for spuds. They also work very well for bananas!

I may still be learning how to relax, but I think we can all agree a moment of relaxation looks extra sweet with a slab of this moist banana bundt cake on a plate. Although I do adore my healthy banana baked goods (reference: Banana Oatmeal Cookies, Banana Coconut Cake, Banana Oatmeal Muffins, etc.), I wanted this banana bundt cake recipe to feel like a true treat, and it does. Don’t be afraid to go a few minutes longer if the knife is not yet coming out clean. I suggest checking the cake at the 30-minute mark; if it is browning too quickly, tent it loosely with foil.

Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 61Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 51Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 27Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 93Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 17Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 76Banana Bundt Cake  Moist and Flavorful     WellPlated com - 59