This Cornbread Muffin recipe was originally published in October 2014. Recipe slightly improved, rewrote post, new photos, recipe video added – it’s a total refresh!

While many people associate cornbread as a Southern staple, there’s actually two distinct types of cornbread in the States – Southern and Northern style cornbread. Cornbread from the South is typically (and I use that word loosely!) more crumbly and less sweet, made with just cornmeal, no flour (or very little flour). It doesn’t keep well and is best served with saucy things to dunk it into (Baked Beans Chili), or plenty of butter. Northern Style cornbread is more cake like, owing to the addition of flour. The crumb is more tender, it’s springy, it doesn’t crumble and it’s usually sweeter. This Cornbread Muffin recipe is a Northern style cornbread. Except I’ve adapted it to my taste with the addition of creamed corn which you don’t usually find in either Southern or Northern cornbread. Stronger corn flavour, and makes it moister!

CORNBREAD MUFFINS – THE REASON I ALWAYS HAVE CREAMED CORN

It feels unnatural to say that cans of creamed corn are a staple in my pantry. But they are – and it’s because of these cornbread muffins (and this 15 minute Chinese Corn Soup!). I make these Cornbread Muffins ALOT. These are the muffins I take to BBQ’s when I’m asked to bring a side (or if I’m told not to bring anything at all 😂). These are the muffins I can make as a side dish for a midweek dinner because they are terrifically quick to mix up. And these are the muffins I would choose out of a Muffin Line Up alongside every sweet muffin in existence! (Not to undermine the fabulousness of sweet muffins – it’s just that I am a savoury gal)  

CORNMEAL VS POLENTA

The key ingredient in Cornbread Muffins is yellow cornmeal. Cornmeal is ground dried corn kernels – it comes in fine, medium and coarse ground. Confusingly, cornmeal is labelled as polenta here in Australia. But actually, polenta is a porridge like Italian side dish (their mashed potato!) that is made from cornmeal. Confused? Don’t blame you. All you need to remember is this: If you’re in Australia, buy the yellow ground stuff labelled polenta. That’s cornmeal! 

With these Cornbread Muffins being one of my personal favourite recipes and give that patience is not one of my greatest virtues, I first shared this recipe back when I started this website in 2014. I’ve been looking forward to updating this post with new photos and more importantly, adding a recipe video! So to any Southerner reading this recipe – don’t judge me for using creamed corn in this! It might not be authentic but it’s darn tasty, with terrific corn flavour and these stay moist for days!!! – Nagi x

Try these cornbread muffins with….

Chili Con Carne Shredded Beef Chili Con Carne A big pot of Southern Baked Beans Slow Cooker BBQ Beef Brisket Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

It was raining today, so we went shopping (for ME!😂)

SaveSave SaveSave

Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 30Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 22Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 17Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 24Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 58Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 84Corn Bread Muffins  Fast and Easy  - 3