Maybe it’s the later sunsets, the melting snow, or the first signs of decent-looking fresh produce (hello, Pea Salad) that made me giddy enough to look at broccoli stalks and conclude, “These need ribbon. Make it satin.” In Wisconsin, we wait a long (LONG) time for spring. So whenever I start to sense its fresh, damp, floral scent breaking the winter air at last I get a little carried away in the kitchen with fresh spring recipes. Like this hearty Sweet Potato Hash, this curried chickpea hash with broccoli and spinach is an easy, aromatic, one-pan dinner that’s ideal for any weeknight. (It also happens to be one of the oldest recipes on my blog and a reader favorite.) This curried chickpea hash is a convenient blend of fresh and frozen ingredients (as is this Vegetarian Pot Pie), which keep it fast and affordable to prepare. I use finely chopped fresh broccoli, frozen hash browns (like in my favorite Hash Brown Casserole), frozen spinach, and protein-packed chewy chickpeas. The hash is perfumed with curry and ginger, everything cooks together in a single skillet, and best of all: it’s topped with scrumptious, saucy, sunny, runny eggs.

How to Make Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli and Spinach

Loaded with wholesome ingredients, plant-based protein, and satisfyingly filling eggs (gotta love that runny yolk), curried chickpea hash with broccoli and spinach is the perfect way to start or end your day (try it with a Cleansing Apple Avocado Smoothie).

The Ingredients

Frozen Hashbrowns. A freezer staple I keep on hand, always, for quick one-pan recipes like this one (and this Crockpot Breakfast Casserole). You could, of course, grate your potatoes fresh if you prefer.Chickpeas. These magical little beans make my heart soar (especially in this Chickpea Salad Sandwich). Packed with plant-based protein, fiber, and other healthy nutrients, they make this hash vegetarian, filling, and oh-so-satisfying.Broccoli + Spinach. Two green superfoods that add plenty of vitamin K, vitamin C, vitamin A, and calcium to this dish. Eggs. For an extra boost of protein, healthy fats, and that delectable runny yolk that permeates every crevice of this hash once you dig in. (I also recommend Eggs in Purgatory if you’re partial to runny yolks in your breakfast recipes.)Curry Powder. Brings a little eastern-inspired flavor and flair to this chickpea hash recipe (try my Chickpea Curry for another chickpea-curry dish that’s truly divine). Ginger + Garlic + Red Onion. An additional layer of flavor that puts a little zip and zing into every bite.Cayenne Pepper. For just a touch of heat—feel free to adjust the amount to suit your tastes and preference for spice.

The Directions

How to Serve Chickpea Hash

To complement the warm spices, I like to serve this chickpea hash with a dollop of Greek yogurt and whole wheat pita (or Homemade Naan).You can either stuff the hash inside the pita and munch it sandwich-style (Ben’s approach) or tear the pita into bites and use it to mop up every precious scrap of that golden runny egg goodness (my method).

Honestly, I love this curry-spiced chickpea hash so much, that I could write a poem…which I did. (Scroll below the recipe card to read if you’re looking for a laugh!) I promise this curried chickpea hash is better than my terrible poetry. The runny egg agrees! This relic was originally published back in January 2013 with my original chickpea hash post. I seriously considered deleting it (you’ll see why), but I decided it’s always good to offer up a few extra giggles to others—even when they’re at my expense.

Ode to a Chickpea

Chickpea, Sweet Chickpea, I profess my love to thee, More precious than a pearl is your lumpy round self to me. I seek you by the can, then stack you with a sigh, I should probably join Costco, so much of you do I buy. I’ll put you in a hummus; I’ll sauté you in a pan, I’ll add you to my salsa; I’ll munch you straight out of the can.  Mighty protein do you pack, my modest little bean, Some call you a garbanzo; I call you hero to cuisine.  For though you may be humble, and garbanzo is a funny word, You are a hearty flavor canvas, and so cheap it is absurd.

More Tasty Chickpea Recipes

Mediterranean Chickpea SaladChickpea Cookie DoughChickpea Tuna SaladChickpea Salad SandwichRoasted Chickpea Snack Mix Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 2Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 62Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 39Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 2Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 7Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 15Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 60Curried Chickpea Hash with Broccoli  30 Minutes Meal    WellPlated com - 67