My husband’s aunt brought some amazing homemade almond biscotti to my baby shower two years ago. It was the first time I’d tried it made from scratch – and wow, was it good! I still remember it after all this time. Of course, I had to get the recipe. I have been wanting to create a low carb and paleo version of it ever since. Since traditional biscotti already contain crushed almonds, transforming them was easier than ever. Say hello to low carb almond flour biscotti!

Some low carb biscotti recipes use combinations of various flours, but I kept it simple with just almond flour. As far as I’m concerned, the whole point of almond flour biscotti is to showcase the almonds. So, why complicate things with too many additional ingredients? My paleo biscotti recipe has only six of them, and I like it that way. Have I told you yet how much I loooove almonds? And, anything crunchy to have with my coffee for breakfast is a win in my book. Bonus points if it happens to be healthy, too! Like these crispy almond flour waffles! If you agree, this gluten-free biscotti is for you. Of course, we’re still talking about biscotti here, so I’m not going to say they are as good for you as a big bowl of vegetables. Nonetheless, all the ingredients in this low carb recipe are natural, the carbs are low, and the nutrients are dense from the almond flour, coconut, and eggs.

The trick to getting the almond flour biscotti extra crisp is to let them gradually cool off in the oven with the door propped open. I found this technique online a while back, though I can’t recall where (it might have been on the Food Network?). All I know is it has worked wonders for my baking. It does an excellent job of crisping up biscotti, various other cookies, veggie chips, or anything else needing crunch. Speaking of crunch, I was pleased to find out that these gluten-free biscotti store incredibly well. If you’re like me, you’ll want to make a big batch to have around for breakfast throughout the week. Enjoy!

Baking Sheet – You will see me use this baking sheet in so many recipes. It is one of my favorite cookware items. Parchment Paper – Parchment Paper is a staple when baking. Lining your baking sheet will keep the biscotti from sticking. Plus, it makes cleaning so much easier. Sharp Knife – This knife is one of my favorite knives to use. This one will work great for butting this Keto Biscotti into individual pieces.

Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Serving size: 1 biscotti cookie