First and most importantly when we’re talking healthy things that are meant to taste like dessert: this mint smoothie recipe is legitimately DELISH.

It is an actually satisfying after-dinner treat or snack that just happens to be nutritious breakfast material too.I feel great drinking this mint smoothie—its gorgeous green hue comes completely from its natural ingredients: avocado, spinach, and a heap of fresh mint leaves—and the sweetness and thickness I owe to frozen slices of overripe banana.It tastes better than the Shamrock Shake (or at least the current version that McDonald’s now sells).

Growing up, the Shamrock Shake (which is a milkshake, which is made with ice cream) signaled the coming of spring, St. Patrick’s Day (one of my favorite holidays), and my mom loved it too, so I could always convince her to take me. I’m not sure if McDonald’s changed their Shamrock Shake beverage formula in recent years, or if it was just better left to my childhood memory, but the last time I ordered it was fairly traumatic. I took a sip and what had McDonald’s done to my Shamrock Shake?

It had a decidedly funky off-flavor that I could only haphazardly identify as lime.I really think that they’ve added radioactive material.Has it always been so alarmingly bright?

I sat reflectively, eating the whipped cream off the top with my straw and wondering which had really changed—the Shamrock Shake or me. I miss the Shamrock Shake terribly—not the current faux-mint monstrosity, but the perfect, refreshing Shamrock Shake of my youth. Now I can only imagine how disillusioned I’d feel if I walked into a Chuck E. Cheese. This McDonald’s episode has convinced me that some cherished childhood experiences are best left as pristine memories. Now, I’ve got this banana mint smoothie to be my celebratory spring treat.

How to Make the Best Mint Smoothie

Rather than accept defeat, I set out to make my own version of a healthy Shamrock Shake (that’s gluten-free with less calories) I could feel good enjoying at home. The result is a rich, thick, and refreshing mint smoothie that is completely natural, something I feel even better about after reading over the McDonald’s ingredient list. While berry flavors (like this simple Strawberry Smoothie and this Blueberry Smoothie) and tropical fruits (Strawberry Mango Smoothie; Kale Smoothie with pineapple) are among the most popular flavors for smoothies, mint is also one of the best.

Mint makes any smoothie ultra-refreshing (try adding it to this Watermelon Smoothie or this Mango Green Smoothie).In the case of this faux Shamrock Shake, it makes it a tasty St. Patrick’s Day treat too.

The Ingredients

Bananas. Frozen bananas are a fantastic natural sweetener for smoothies, including this Date Shake. They also help make it thick and creamy. Spinach. Not only do spinach leaves boost the nutrition content of this smoothie (hello, vitamins and iron), but they also play a role in its green color. Avocado. Helps give the smoothie its green hue and makes it suuuuuper creamy. It’s one of my favorite ingredients to include in green smoothies (like in this Blueberry Banana Avocado Smoothie and this Cleansing Apple Avocado Smoothie).Mint. The all-important cool, minty flavor comes from fresh mint leaves. The leaves also add to the green color. Vanilla Almond Milk. I love using vanilla almond milk as the liquid for this recipe. The touch of vanilla is delicious with the sweet, minty flavors. Peppermint Extract. Adds an extra punch of minty flavor. Be careful: a little goes a long way.Sweetener. For an added touch of sweetness. Stevia, Truvia, honey, or maple syrup will all work well here.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Cover and refrigerate the shake for up to 1 day. 

Blender. Perfect high-speed blender for making this copycat Shamrock Shake. Measuring Cups. These are dishwasher-safe for easy cleanup. Stainless Steel Straw. These reusable straws help make smoothies taste especially cool and creamy.

Although this mint smoothie does not taste identical to the perfect Shamrock Shake of my childhood, it is undeniably scrumptious and will be good to your body too.

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

27 mins

Mint Brownies

3 hrs

Chocolate Peppermint Covered Pretzels

1 hr Leave a rating below in the comments and let me know how you liked the recipe. Plus, after sampling our current Shamrock Shake alternative, I’m delighted to have this mint smoothie recipe in my repertoire to signal the arrival of spring!

Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino

3 mins

Raspberry Champagne Float

1 min

Oatmeal Smoothie

5 mins

Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 89Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 39Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 51Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 4Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 42Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 75Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 39Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 95Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 52Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 13Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 74Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 87Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 78Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 1Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 13Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 71Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 23Mint Smoothie  Healthy Copycat Shamrock Shake    WellPlated com - 94