It’s an easy recipe that cooks in one pan, but the moment you take a bite, you will want to hire yourself to be head chef in an Italian restaurant. I’ve become more confident in the kitchen over the years and feel like I more or less know what to expect when I approach a recipe. Every now and then, however, a recipe will catch me off guard in a very very good way. This Italian sausage butternut squash gnocchi is one of those recipes. I mean, I didn’t think it was going to be bad by any means. Butternut squash (my fave fall veg), Italian sausage (all things good), and gnocchi (pure comfort food) are all involved. Add some butter and a handful of Parmesan cheese, and you have a dinner dream team. I was not, however, expecting this simple sausage and vegetable gnocchi to blow me away like it did. I took a bite and had to pause to ask myself if I had really made it. I suppose we are all allowed to blow ourselves away in the kitchen every now and then, but my goal has always been for other people to feel that way about a recipe. This Italian sausage and butternut squash gnocchi made me feel that way about myself. It was a cool sensation, and I can’t wait for you to try this recipe and experience it too!

How to Make Butternut Squash Gnocchi

Culinary rock star feelings aside, this is a delicious meal that is so easy to make, it almost feels like cheating.

The entire recipe cooks in one skillet, including the gnocchi.Since it’s packed with both lean protein and veggies, it works as an all-in-one meal, no extra sides required (just like with this Cauliflower Pasta and Sweet Potato Pasta).It tastes like fall comfort on a plate and had me convinced for a moment that I was back in Italy.

The Ingredients

Gnocchi. Delightful, pillowy-soft potato gnocchi is a true crowd-pleaser. It pairs perfectly with the Italian sausage and butternut squash. Italian Turkey Sausage. For a boost of protein and even more comforting flavor, this recipe also includes Italian sausage. I use chicken or turkey sausage 99% of the time. It’s leaner than pork sausage but still delivers on flavor. Pinky promise, you won’t notice the swap.

Butternut Squash. Sweet, flavorful, and nutritious. Butternut squash is packed with vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. Spinach. For an extra boost of nutrition. Spinach is rich in fiber and vitamins. Butter. Since this recipe obtains its soul-satisfying flavor from only a few ingredients, make sure you use a good-quality butter. It makes a world of difference!Sage. For quintessential fall flavor.Nutmeg. Adds an irressitable warmth and coziness to the dish. Plus, it tastes fantastic with the butternut squash!Parmesan. The perfect finishing touch!

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Refrigerate leftover gnocchi in an airtight storage container for up to 4 days. To Reheat. Rewarm gently in the microwave or on the stovetop with a splash of extra chicken broth or water to keep it from drying out.To Freeze. Freeze leftovers in an airtight freezer-safe storage container for up to 3 months. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator before reheating. 

Dutch Oven. Perfect for making this recipe!Cheese Grater. You can use a box grater or a microplane grater.Sharp Chef’s Knife. The ideal tool for cutting the butternut squash.

I am so excited for you to try this butternut squash gnocchi recipe! If you do give it a go, please let me know how it turned out in the comments section below.

Shaved Brussels Sprouts Salad

45 mins

No Knead Focaccia

2 hrs

Roasted Broccolini

25 mins Hearing from you makes my day even more than a second helping of this gnocchi did (and you know how strongly I feel about it by now?). Leave a rating below in the comments and let me know how you liked the recipe.

Homemade Hamburger Helper

35 mins

Brussels Sprouts Pasta with Brown Butter

30 mins

Butternut Squash Pasta with Sausage and Kale

40 mins

One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 49One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 79One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 9One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 60One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 52One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 26One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 11One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 27One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 52One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 55One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 44One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 63One Skillet Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Italian Sausage and Spinach - 11