If you like salty-sweet combos, cool creamy desserts, and fresh summer fruit, this Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust is for you. If you like EASY desserts that take approximately zero culinary skill, won’t heat up your whole house, and are guaranteed to earn you the loving admiration of everyone at the BBQ, this Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust is for you too. This mishap-turned-miracle recipe is five ingredients, takes less than 15 minutes to prep, and is one of the best summer desserts to come out of my kitchen. I also pinky promise it won’t melt all over your freezer. I took care of that for us already.

Strawberries and pretzels are a classic combo here in the Midwest, most notably in a little dish we call strawberry pretzel “salad,” which is a rather liberal use of the term, considering its core components. It has a buttery pretzel crust, a sweetened cream cheese center, and strawberry topping. Cool Whip and Jell-O tend to be involved. Actual salad ingredients do not. As I kid, I loved it. As an adult? I’ll take this Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust. Every. Single. Time. (Unless, of course, this Strawberry Cream Cheese Pie is nearby.)

If you’ve never tasted strawberries and pretzels together, I’m asking you to trust me and whichever church ladies first introduced it to the Midwest potluck scene—it WORKS. The strawberries are juicy and sweet, the pretzels are salty and crunchy, and the two combined with creamy frozen yogurt is absolutely addictive. This super summer pie has two basic components: the pretzel crust and the frozen strawberry pie filling.

Tips to Make the Best Pretzel Crust

For the pretzel crust: it’s super simple to make, but you must MUST let the crust cool COMPLETELY before adding the frozen yogurt filling. Let’s revisit that again. Let the crust cool completely before you add the frozen yogurt filling.

Remember when I told you how an early iteration of this frozen yogurt pie melted all over my freezer? This was my mistake. I scooped the strawberry frozen yogurt mixture into a still-warm crust, and the residual heat from the crust caused the frozen yogurt to melt right on out of the pie dish and all over my freezer. Oy vey.

Tips to Make the Best Frozen Pie Filling

Only three ingredients here! Store-bought strawberry frozen yogurt, chopped pretzels for extra crunch, and sliced fresh strawberries. Be sure to pick a brand of frozen yogurt you really love, since it is the most prominent ingredient and the heart of the frozen yogurt pie’s flavor. I wanted to keep this a somewhat healthy yogurt pie (as much as it can be, anyway) so I opted for a light frozen yogurt, but you can certainly use regular strawberry ice cream if you prefer.

For serving, I piled my slice high with extra fresh strawberries, which I now have in abundance thanks to a recent trip to a local strawberry farm. I came away with this epic haul, another check on my summer bucket list, and a very compelling reason to make this Strawberry Pretzel Frozen Yogurt Pie one more time. One more reason to make it: the Fourth of July! For a festive red, white, and blue, you can serve this frozen yogurt with fresh strawberries and blueberries on top (delicious) and a cloud of homemade whipped cream (mandatory).

How to Store Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie

To Store. Store leftover frozen yogurt pie in the freezer, tightly covered, for up to 2 weeks. Let sit at room temperature to soften for a few minutes before serving. Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 15Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 2Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 63Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 45Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 31Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 8Strawberry Frozen Yogurt Pie with Pretzel Crust - 5